Bill Watch 22 - 2018 Ministerial Appointments

BILL WATCH 22/2018

14th September 2018

President Mnangagwa’s Ministerial Appointments

President Mnangagwa’s Ministerial appointments were announced at State House on Friday afternoon, 7th September.  The main swearing-in ceremony took place on 10th September, and most of the appointees took their oaths of office on this occasion.  Those that were unable to attend have been sworn in since.

The new Ministerial line-up is as follows:


[in alphabetical order by name of Ministry]



Deputy Minister

Defence and War Veterans

Hon Oppah Zvipange Muchinguri-Kashiri

Hon. Victor Matemadanda

Energy and Power Development

Hon. Joram M. Gumbo

Hon. Magna Mudyiwa

Environment, Tourism and Hospitality Industry

Hon. Prisca Mupfumira


Finance and Economic Development

Hon. Prof Mthuli Ncube *


Foreign Affairs and International Trade

Hon. Sibusiso B. Moyo


Health and Child Care

Hon. Dr Obediah Moyo *

Hon Dr John Mangwiro

Higher and Tertiary Education, Science and Technology

Hon. Prof Amon Murwira *


Home Affairs and Cultural Heritage

Hon. Cain Mathema *

Hon. Michael Madiro

Industry and Commerce

Hon. Mangaliso Ndlovu

Hon Rajeshakumar Modi

Information Communication Technology and Courier Services

Hon. Kazembe Kazembe

Hon. Jerifan Muswere

Information, Publicity and Broadcasting Services

Hon. Monica Mutsvangwa

Hon. Energy Mutodi

Justice, Legal and Parliamentary Affairs

Hon. Ziyambi Ziyambi


Lands, Agriculture, Water, Climate and Rural Resettlement

Hon. Chief Air Marshal
P. Shiri

Hon. Douglas Karoro

Hon. Vangelis Haritatos

Local Government, Public Works and National Housing

Hon. July G. Moyo *

Hon. Jennifer Mhlanga

Mines and Mining Development

Hon. Winston Chitando

Hon. Polite Kambamura

Primary and Secondary Education

Hon. Prof Paul Mavima

Hon. Edgar Moyo

Public Service, Labour and Social Welfare

Hon. Sekesai Nzenza

Hon. Lovemore Matuke

Transport and Infrastructural Development

Hon. Joel Biggie Matiza

Hon. Fortune Chasi

Women Affairs, Community, Small and Medium Enterprises Development

Hon. Sithembiso G. G. Nyoni


Youth, Sport, Arts and Recreation

Hon. Kirsty Coventry *

Hon. Yeukai Simbanegavi


1.  There are six Ministers in this list [each marked by an asterisk *] who are not members of Parliament – one more than the five that the Constitution allows the President to appoint from outside Parliament [section 104(3)].  Unlike the former Constitution, the Constitution does not allow a Minister to hold office for up to three months to enable him/her to acquire a Parliamentary seat.  So a mistake has been made by the President’s advisers and one of these six Ministers has not been lawfully appointed.  This is something that needs to be cleared up by the Office of the President and Cabinet as soon as possible – if necessary, by the appointment of an Acting Minister for the Ministry concerned pending a lawful substantive appointment.   

2.  Deputy Ministers are appointed to assist Ministers in the exercise of their functions [Constitution, section 104(2)].  

3. There are 20 Ministries.  6 of them are without Deputy Ministers, notably Finance and Economic Development, and Justice, Legal and Parliamentary Affairs – both of which are major Ministries with sufficient responsibilities to justify the appointment of Deputy Ministers.  The Ministry of Lands, Agriculture, Water, Climate and Rural Resettlement has two Deputy Ministers, maintaining recent practice by both Presidents Mugabe and Mnangagwa.

4.  Dr Mangwiro’s appointment as Deputy Minister of Health and Child Care was announced this week.  He was sworn in on 11th September.


Vice-President Chiwenga’s Office

Hon. Evelyn Ndlovu

Vice-President Mohadi’s Office

Hon. Davis Marapira

Neither of the Vice-Presidents has been assigned responsibility for a particular Ministry.  This is a departure from President Mnangagwa’s previous arrangements, under which VP Chiwenga was assigned the Ministry of Defence and War Veterans and VP Mohadi the Ministry of National Peace and Reconciliation.  His assignment of the Ministry of Defence and War Veterans to VP Chiwenga had been strongly criticised as unconstitutional, with critics referring to the fact that section 215 of the Constitution provides that the President must appoint a Minister to be responsible for the Defence Forces.  


[in alphabetical order by name of province]


Minister of State


Hon. Judith Ncube




Hon. Ellen Gwaradzimba

Mashonaland Central

Hon. Monica Mavhunga

Mashonaland East

Hon. Appllonia Munzverengi

Mashonaland West

Hon. Mary Mliswa


Hon. Ezra Chadzamira

Matabeleland North

Hon. Richard Moyo

Matabeleland South

Hon. Abednico Ncube


Hon. Larry Mavima


As the President has repeatedly said his Government will be implementing the constitutional provisions for devolution of powers and responsibilities to provincial and metropolitan councils, the appointment of provincial Ministers of State may in due course become redundant.  When devolution has been achieved and provincial councils have assumed control of provincial affairs and resources, having Provincial Affairs Ministers may prove to be an unnecessary and therefore wasteful expense for the fiscus. 


Download File: